2011 SIAC Volleyball Preseason All-Conference Teams & Predicted Order of Finish Announced

Posted by kmay | 08/25/2011 20:15 PM

 Atlanta, GA—The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announces the 2011 SIAC Preseason Volleyball All-Conference Teams and Predicted Order of Finish as voted on by the SIAC Volleyball Coaches Association. The 2011 preseason team is led by Paine College outside hitter Victoria Claytor.
Claytor, a native of El Paso, TX, finished among the league leaders with a team-high 390 kills and a .273 hitting percentage. The 5-10 junior also had a team-high 88 blocks, averaging .75 per set. As a sophomore, she was named 2010 SIAC Defensive Player of the Year while also earning All-SIAC second team honors.
Also joining Claytor on this year’s preseason All- SIAC Team is Fernisha McMillian and Janae’ Kearse.   Last year, McMillian was chosen as SIAC first-team Libero and joins Claytor on the SIAC first-team.  The senior from Blackville, SC led the team with 405 digs, 26 service aces, and no ball-handling errors.  Kearse was selected as a member of the SIAC second-team. One of the Lady Lions most versatile players, the senior Orangeburg, SC native recorded 116 kills, 46 service aces, 356 digs, and the 5’2 outside hitter had a total of 23 blocks.

Defending champion Kentucky State was picked to win the West Division while 2010 SIAC tournament runner-up Albany State was selected to win the East Division. The Lady Lions finished the 2010 season with a 17-15 overall record, and were chosen to finish in 5th place on the East Division.  The Thorobrettes, coming off a 22-10 (15-1 in the SIAC) campaign and a berth in the NCAA tournament, were also selected to repeat as SIAC champions for the second consecutive year.

2011 SIAC Preseason Volleyball All-Conference Team
1st Team
Sabrina Garcia                       Outside Hitter       Senior               Albany State University
Lauren Calvin                         Outside Hitter       Sophomore       Claflin University
Victoria Claytor                             Outside Hitter         Junior                   Paine College   
Jamila McKinnis                     Outside Hitter        Senior               Stillman College
Phyllice Eubanks                    Middle Blocker      Senior               Stillman College
Brittany Stewart                      Setter                    Senior              Kentucky State University
Fernisha McMillan                         Libero                        Senior                    Paine College
2nd Team
Latayvia Mack                        Middle Blocker     Junior               Benedict College
Erica Coleman                        Outside Hitter       Senior               Kentucky State University
Janae’ Kearse                                 Outside Hitter      Senior                   Paine College
Faith Simmons                       Outside Hitter       Junior               Claflin University
Danica Lawrence                    Middle Hitter        Junior               Clark Atlanta University
Ashley Jackson                      Setter                    Sophomore       Benedict College
Tyneishah Spears                   Libero                  Sophomore       Clark Atlanta University

2011 Predicted Order of Finish
1.     Albany State
2.     Claflin
3.     Benedict
4.     Clark Atlanta
5.     Paine
6.     Fort Valley State
1.     Kentucky State
2.     Stillman
3.     Tuskegee
1.     LeMoyne-Owen
2.     Miles
3.     Lane

Conference Champion: Kentucky State




  L-R: Victoria Claytor, Fernisha McMillian, Janae' Kearse