LaShon Sturgis, 02 to receive the Herbert W. Nickens Award

Posted by ncarter | 10/24/2011 10:13 AM

(Augusta, GA)- The Association of American Medical Colleges announced the recipients of the Herbert W. Nickens faculty fellowship and medical student scholarships.  Among the recipients is LaShon Cherry Sturgis, '02. She will receive the Herbert W. Nickens Award on Monday, November 7, 2011 at the Association of American Medical Colleges Annual Meeting in Denver, Colorado. The winners will receive their awards at the Future Leaders of Academic Medicine session. 

The award is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to promoting justice in medical education and health care equities for people in the United States.  Dr. Nickens believed that a multidisciplinary approach is needed to address inequities in health. Because of this, nominees may come from a wide range of fields, including medicine, dentistry, education, law, nursing, pharmacy, public health, and social and behavioral sciences.

This is a tremendous recognition for Sturgis and her work over the years at Paine College, Georgia Health Science University/ Medical College of Georgia.
 “This award is a huge honor and a culmination of the things I’ve accomplished over the years, “ she said. “You can open a lot of doors by working hard and giving back. I encourage others to work hard and give back to help make things easier for others that will follow in their footsteps.”

This year's faculty fellowship recipient is Tumaini Coker, M.D., assistant professor of pediatrics, University of California, Los Angeles David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. He will receive $15,000 to support academic and professional activities.

The $5,000 student scholarships will go to Monique Chambers, University of California, Davis School of Medicine; Toussaint Mears-Clarke, University of Chicago Division of the Biological Sciences, The Pritzker School of Medicine; Teresa K. L. Schiff, University of Hawaii John A. Burns School of Medicine; LaShon Sturgis, Ph.D., Medical College of Georgia at Georgia Health Sciences University; and Martha Tesfalul, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

For more information, contact the Office of Communications & Marketing at 706-396-7591 or

Photo attached: LaShon Sturgis, Ph.D.